We are all GODS in potential. However, we should become GODS in practice.

We should practice GOD-HOOD in all our second-to-second thoughts, time-to-time words and daily deeds.

As we keep increasing our understanding of SPIRITUAL SCIENCE and as we keep practicing our MEDITATION, we become more and more capable in the actualization of our GOD-HOOD.

As we become more and more capable in the actualization of our GOD-HOOD, our Life-Zest increases.

The constant goal of spirituality is to increase our Life-Zest.

“ MEDITATION .. the first stage ”

“ Meditation ” means getting control of the mind, becoming the master of the mind.

In meditation, there are three phases:


" ANAPANASATI " .. means being with the normal, natural, simple, soft, easy and tender BREATH.

" KAYANUPASSANA " .. is watching, a little, the movements of energy fields .. when they are experienced in the etheric body .. as a result of practicing Anapanasati.

" VIPASSANA " .. is paying maximum attention to the third-eye experiences as and when the third-eye activity begins as a result of Anapanasati practice.

“ ENLIGHTENMENT .. the second stage ”

As we keep to the practice of anapanasati meditation, we enter into the phase of VIPASSANA and we begin to understand that we are essentially a THIRD-EYE. We understand that we are a SOUL. This is called " ENLIGHTENMENT ".

As we keep increasing our enlightenment, we become more and more the master of the mind, then we become candidates for right intellect, in the day-to-day physical world.

The first stage of meditation leads to the second stage that is enlightenment.

However, for the enlightenment to become steadfast, two more essential activities are required:


SWADHYAYA " .. reading right books. Only a well-tamed mind can take up “ Swadhyaya ” i.e., reading right books and “ Sajjana Sangatya ” i.e., interacting with right people.

" SAJJANA SANGATYA " .. interacting with right people

Without reading right books, and without interacting with right people, enlightenment does not mature, as it should.

Enlightenment, further means two more things:  


We are not here on the Earth, for lamenting. Whatever be the situation .. or whatever be the achievement or non-achievement.. we are here, forever, to rejoice and celebrate.

Rejoicing is the natural result when we understand that every so called ‘ failure ’ is nothing but a stepping-stone for a subsequent success.

The only thing we have to avoid is ‘ regretting ’. Regretting means unnecessarily indulging our energy in the events of the past, which are gone forever.

Every regret is a fresh blunder... We may commit mistakes .. mistakes are natural .. but we should not indulge in prolonged regrets.

Secondly, every present moment should be utilized creatively and productively.

“ AWARENESS .. the third stage ”

Enlightened people alone are perfectly aware in any given moment and in any given situation. “ AWARENESS ” means to come back to the’ here  and ' now ' .. from the ‘  there ’ and ‘ then ’.

In the acquisition of the quality of awareness, intense companionship with the MASTERS becomes crucial. A MASTER is a paragon of awareness.

“ AWARENESS ” has two essential aspects:  


“ AWARENESS ”.. means dedicating oneself totally to the work on hand, at any given moment.

“ AWARENESS ”.. means being totally alive in the given current situation.

“ AWARENESS ”.. means flowing happily with the natural emotions in the great ‘ here ’ and ‘now’.

“ AWARENESS ” .. also means living in the concept of eternity. There is PAST. There is PRESENT. And there is FUTURE. However, these are not distinct and separate blocks, but one great and vast continuous existence.

“ LIVING WISELY ” demands that we take into consideration the immediate past and the immediate future for fathoming the most appropriate choice concerning present action or present reaction.

“ LIVING WISELY ” also demands that we take into consideration the ETERNITY OF PAST and the ETERNITY OF FUTURE also for fathoming the most appropriate choice concerning the present action or the present reaction.

“ LIFE-ZEST .. the final stage ”

The end-result of meditation is enlightenment. The end-result of enlightenment is awareness. And the end-result of awareness is LIFE-ZEST.

Now, every given moment is enjoyed. Now, every given situation is savoured. Now, life becomes absolutely dynamic. Now, life becomes absolutely miraculous.

Now, every thought acquires power. No sooner a thought is created .. it manifests without any distortions.

Now, every word becomes a dynamite. Now, every action becomes a piece of art and grace.

Now, life has become a continuous celebration.

‘ LlFE-ZEST ’ has two essential aspects :  


“ MORE LIFE-ZEST ” means more compassion .. that is more and more giving. Compassionate and continuous giving becomes a natural habit.

“ MORE LIFE-ZEST ” also means more and more happiness-full accepting of everything that we receive. Continuous state of happy acceptance becomes a natural habit.

There is a graceful giving and a graceful receiving .. all the time, in all the situations.

A dynamic and vibrant ZEST-FUL LIFE is one wherein the quantitative amount of total ‘ gives ’ and ‘ takes ’ is very very high.

-  Brahmarshi Patriji

( Excerpted from Spiritual India Magazine, Nov-Dec 2011 ) 

Go to top